Saturday night, I was feeling exceptionally frustrated by life. We had just gotten a new dog for the significant other (who will be known as "S.O." forthwith), and the dog proceeded to mark on my favorite foot stool (just like male dogs do - the reason why I didn't want a male dog, but S.O. insisted). I Googled things that we could do to prevent the dog from marking in the house, but I don't think the S.O. took them seriously.
One item on the list was, when walking the dog, don't allow him to mark every tree, pole, etc. Take him to a designated spot and only then allow him to relieve his bladder if needed. Halfway through the walk, S.O. had allowed the dog to mark no less than 3 times. In my frustration, I said in my best happy-go-luck-passive-aggressive voice, "Looks like our parenting styles are going to clash." He then told me to lighten up and called me a fucking drill sergeant. He said, "you have your way, and I have mine". To which I replied, "Then go your way." I promptly reversed my course with my (FEMALE) dog, and took a different route. I told him not to follow.
I returned home to find him already there, and I proceeded with the girlfriend silent treatment. He pushed and pushed and pushed and wanted to talk. I didn't. I wanted to wallow in my self-pity that my boyfriend thought I was a drill sergeant and male ANYTHINGS were awful to have around (except maybe my son who is the only awesome man on the planet). I was so sad, mad, angry and hot-flashy all at the same time, that I wished I could just disappear from the planet never to return.
The silent treatment led to crazy dreams, and in one, I vividly recall stating, "Shit. My period started early!" I woke the next day (Sunday) with a better attitude and severe cramps. I started spotting Sunday night (4 days earlier than I should have), and then the whole world made sense again.
When will he learn not to f with me in my cycle??????????
No comments:
Post a Comment